anient fortress on the fylla of Evia
Located just east of the village Fylla in Central Evia on the hill called Vrahos and dates back to the backarchaϊki period. Built for the battle of 508 B.C. the Athenians with their allies Eretria ransom, chalcis, which was allied with the boeotian League. Shortly thereafter, the 506 BC, the Athenians send 4000 kliroychoys in Euboea, exploit the estates at lilantio field and impose democracy in the city of Chalkis. The duration of use was not great, a few years later, in 490 BC, Euboea was conquered by the Persians and the Fort had no raison d ' être. After the Persian wars the Chalcidians recaptured the area, had no reason to use the Fort, which probably demolished.
Dimensions 230 x 80 m. A transverse wall on the West side, built later than the main fortification, limited the length of 180 m in the excavations brought to light a large building with dimensions 111.98 x 7.02 m, which occupies one side of the enclosure, and a second, smaller near the Northern cliff of a hill. The large elongated building had a series of 20 identical rooms (4.55 x 5.98 m²), which are divided into four teams through three narrow corridors. The rooms were acquired on thick stones and their floors consisted of pressed clay Tiles Corinthian type. covered the two buildings. In one room of the Grand building revealed a square made of tiles in downtown, reminiscent of a sort of outbreak. The large building should be was probably a kind of barracks inside the fortress, where resided the guard.
castle of karababa in chalkida
Located on the Fourka Hill of the boeotian coast. Is the ancient city of Kanithos, as traces of buildings and tombs. The fortress that survives today was built by the Turks in 1684, with the purpose of protection of chalcis by the Venetians. The location is strategic, as it controls the narrow euripus Strait and the city of Chalkis. Designed by the Venetian Gerolimo Galopo and its architecture is more European and less Turkish. Besieged unsuccessfully by the 1688 Morosini and the Turks managed to retain ownership until the liberation of Greece, so and handed it to the Greek State.
The format is Venetian, with oblong quadrangle, bastion in North side, three bastions and a large Tower. The southern part of the wall is preserved in bad condition. Ancient architectural members have entoichisthei on several points of the enclosure. The most complex, hexagonal Bastion is located on the East side. At ramparts kept two Russian cannons of the 19th century. The only gate of the fortress is located on the Southeast side of the wall, while around her have built buildings of military character.
On the East wall of the courtyard, between the gate and the East Tower, is located belfry, built in the place where the alarm bell of the fortress. The only well preserved building in the precincts is a temple dedicated to the Prophet Elijah, which dates back to 1895. The western end of the wall occupies seve sided tower, megaloprepesteri defensive construction of the fortress. The entrance to the tower is made of narrow kamaroskepi corridor, reminiscent of maze.
Wreck of artemision
Wrecked the 2nd or early 1st century B.C. and was sailing in the straits of Artemisium. Inside the boat found two bronze statues, which recovered from the sea area. It is a God (Zeus or Poseidon) and the so-called "small Knight" of artemision. The value of these findings are particularly great, as it is one of the few original bronze works that have survived until today. The path of the ship and the space was arranged the statues is not known. The pottery found along with the statues associated with Asia minor and Pergamum. The ship must be directed either from North to South through Greece Euboean Gulf or vice versa. The efforts of archaeologists associate the sinking with several well-known historical events have suggested different opinions. One of them says that the ship probably carried booty from Macedonia in Rome after the Suppression of the rebellion of Andriskoy in 148 b.c. by Metellus Kaikilio. A second view argues that the ship was moving towards Pergamum with booty from Corinth after the conquering of Mummius in 146 BC against these two cases stands the dating of pottery found along with statues and placed later than these events.
In April 1926 it was caught in the nets of fishermen from the island the left arm of the statue of the god. The rest of the statue was recovered from the sea floor two years later, again from fishermen and sponge divers, in September 1928. In November 1928 in surveys of the Greek State came to light the front of the horse and the little trooper. Smaller parts of the second statue found in 1929, while the back of the horse was recovered in 1936.
New (High) bridge of chalkida
Located at the entrance of Chalcis and is cable (suspension).
tidal phenomenon of the euripus strait
The waters of the strait is changing direction every 6 hours. This phenomenon is due to the location of the planets Earth, Sun and Moon. The tide is moving in one direction for 6 hours with speed usually is 5-6 miles per hour, immediately followed by a period of approximately 8 minutes where the water stays stationary and then change direction and move in the opposite direction for the next 6 hours and so on.
During a lunar month, presented 2 bouts in which the water is messy, ie doesn't follow the predefined route. From this phenomenon has gotten the nickname of Chalkida "crazy water". This phenomenon occurs the 7th, 8th and 9th day of the moon, and then on the 21st, 22nd and 23rd day of the moon. What isn't widely known is that this phenomenon exists and in other parts of the world has 2 global oddities.
The first is the fact that the 24th hour of the third and last day of each period clutter (i.e. on 9 and 23 day Moon) the waters always begin to flow from the North to the South Euboean gulf.
The second unique world phenomenon is that during Equinox (i.e. March 21st and 22nd September) instantly change direction flows without stagnation of approximately 8 minutes carried out all the other days.