Built in 1209 by the Venetians, the southwesternmost tip of the Peloponnese. It is one of the largest castles in the Mediterranean with an area of 93 acres.
The three sides of the Castle washed by the sea, while in the North there is the Acropolis. To get there you must pass the stone bridge with 14 arches (the Venetians with the concrete replaced the pre-existing, wooden bridge) which is decorated with reliefs – notably the walled Lion of St. mark, symbol of Venice.
There are also the bastions Loredan and Bembo , parts of the Byzantine Church of Hagia Sophia, the Church of the Holy Saviour that is built in 1830 by the French liberation body column Morosini, coats of arms, inscriptions, coats of arms and relics two Ottoman baths.
On the South side of the castle there is the fortified islet of Bourtzi, which is approached by a paved road that starts from the restored sea gate. The building located on the islet is octagonal, bunk and created by the Venetians in 1500 to act as a bulwark for the protection of the harbour. During the Turkish occupation the tower served as a prison and place of executions.
gialova lagoon or divari
It is located at a distance of 7 km. from Pylos between Yalova and Voidokoilia beach, in the western part of Messenia, and is the southernmost station of international importance of migratory birds in the Balkans.
The lagoon has an area of 6,000 hectares, while the greatest depth does not exceed 4 m the wetland protected as a wildlife refuge and a special protection area, and the small island of Sphacteria exactly opposite declared Place of Community interest in the context of the network Natura 2000.
From the total of 442 species of birds that have been recorded in Greece the 270 (herons, flamingos, cormorants etc) detected in Gialova, while outside of the birds in the area finds shelter large number of mammals, reptiles (from the most important and endangered species across Europe the African Chameleon), amphibians and fish.
Under organized environmental education programs, tours, field trips and birdwatching.
Neda stems from the term Lykaio and is the natural boundary of Messinia with the Prefecture of Elias. Has a length of 32 km. and before emptying into the Ionian Neda crosses the Gorge of Neda, in the northern part of the County.
The vegetation comprises trees, agriobelanidies, agriofoyntoykies. The downhill starts at the village of Kouvelas while in route to karyes there are three beautiful waterfalls.
To the West there is the first large waterfall, the chapel of the Virgin Mary, the stone bridge of Figaleia (there is also an archaeological area just above), the second waterfall and finally cave with stalactites in place Stomio length 200-300 m Passing the third waterfall gorge opens and goes through a meadow. At the base of waterfalls created natural ponds.
It is located at a distance of 52 km. from Kalamata. Is a coastal town that all houses have red tile roofs and wooden balconies. In Koroni, there is the famous fortress of Koroni. This is the biggest attraction of while is worth a visit and in the Church of Saint Sofia of the 12th century.
It is located at a distance of 61 km. from the centre of Kalamata and 12 km. from Pylos the southwesternmost tip of the county. The most important attraction is the famous Castle of Methoni which built in 1209 by the Venetians and occupies an area of 93 acres. The three sides of the Castle washed by the sea, while the North is fortified by a Citadel.
Next to the castle there is a beautiful beach. Optimum time to visit the castle of Methoni is the time of sunset.
zarnata castle or koumoundouraki castle
It is located between the villages of Kampos and Stavropigio in western Mani. Dating in the early 17th century on the ruins of an older, while opinions differ about its origin as many argue that the Franks built, others that comes from the Venetians and others that is a creation of the Turks. But data indicate as the castle the Vizier Ahmed-Kioypoyrli.
At the top of the hill there is a stronghold of the fees of the 18th century, while the castle includes the main war, auxiliary buildings, band of residence and two churches, the Church of Zoodochou Pigis with fretwork templon and the ruined Church of St. Nicholas.
The castle of Zarnata was action point of Theodoros Kolokotronis during the Greek Revolution, arrived here in order to help Panagiotis Koumoundarakis (violence and the second name) Bey of Mani, when attacked by Turks and Mani the period was deposed from his position.
It is located at a distance of 50 km. from Kalamata in the western part of the county on the bay (Navarino bay). All houses are white with red roofs and very reminiscent of islands of argosaronikos.
The older name of the village is Neokastro, due to the Niokastroy created in Turkish to Turkish can supervise the western coasts of the Peloponnese. You can visit the Archaeological Museum of Pylos or Antonopoulos (donation of dentist Christos Antonopoulos), which was created in order to accommodate the personal collection of the philhellene Rene Puaux–, as well as the Palace of Nestor, the hill of upper Englianos, 14 km from Pylos, which is the best preserved specimen of the Mycenaean Palace throughout Greece.
From the beaches of the region the most photographed Voidokilia is located north of Pylos, with fine, white sand and turquoise, crystal clear water.
It is located between the Methoni and Koroni in the southern part of Messenia. Combines the traditional with the modern element and has famous beaches with more famous mavrovouni with the endless sandy beach, the Tsapi (here arrive the sea turtles to lay their eggs), the Loutsa (front of the homonym camping) and the lamps with sand and pebbles.
rintomo gorge of koskarakas
Starting from an altitude of 2031 measures on tops of Taygetos and ends at the coast of Sadova.
From the sights of the canyon is the picturesque village of Rintomo, the stone Pigadiwtiko bridge, caves as well as traces of hermitages.
It is located 52 km. southwest of Kalamata on the southern edge of the Messenian gulf. Has Venetian fortification architecture and is one of the few castles that inside the preserved houses and temples. Built by the Venetians in the 13th century and strengthened by the Ottomans in the 16th century. The main gate of the Castle, on the north side, was concentrated the whole village to guard against the invasions of conquerors and pirates. Today, though, few houses are inhabited. Inside the Castle are still preserved sculptured tombs, underground vaulted cisterns from hewn stone blocks for the collection of rainwater, the octagonal tower – example of Ottoman architecture – the churches of Hagia Sophia (Church of the 12th century) and Agios Charalambos (old mosque which now operates as an orthodox temple) and the monastery of John the Baptist. To access your daily routes with buses of KTEL Messinias.